Button to scroll to the top of the page.



Physicist Receives Major Award for Plasma Research

Phil MorrisonPhilip Morrison, a professor of physics at UT Austin and a member of the Institute for Fusion Studies, is a 2023 recipient of the American Physical Society’s John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research.

Established in 1981, this award recognizes those who have contributed greatly to the field of plasma physics. Morrison, along with co-recipients Hong Qin and Eric Sonnendrücker, has been selected for “establishing and shaping the field of structure-preserving geometric algorithms for plasma physics.” He has been internationally recognized for investigating nonlinear Hamiltonian dynamics of few and infinite degree-of-freedom systems, and has discovered several Poisson brackets. He has also been associated with the Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Program and the Oden Institute Applied Mathematics Group. Recipients receive a certificate citing their contributions and $5,000 to be split equally in the case of multiple recipients.

Lang Work on PET Featured in Physics World
Gordon Elected Fellow of the American Physical Soc...

Related Posts


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment