Button to scroll to the top of the page.

Each year, the Graduate Welfare Committee invites one individual from another university to speak. The event is partially funded by the department. Previous speakers include:


James Yorke

Distinguished University Professor of Math and Physics

Institute for Physical Sciences and Technology

University of Maryland


John (Jan) L. Hall

Nobel Prize in Physics, 2005

University of Colorado - Boulder


Nima Arkani-Hamed

Institute for Advance Study

Princeton University