Button to scroll to the top of the page.

The Department of Physics awards scholarships for continuing students at the beginning of the Fall semester for the entire academic year; you do not need to re-apply for Spring.  If you are an entering Freshman, please check the College of Natural Sciences website here for information on available scholarships.

Kelly McCoy, our Undergraduate Coordinator, will send out information regarding the Physics scholarships application forms and deadlines at a later date.

Physics has seven endowed and two departmental scholarships as shown below:


Abel Family Scholarships in Physics

(Must work 10 hrs per week in a physics research lab)


The Physics Department Scholarship




Kent & Linda McCormack Scholarship in Physics


Nancy & William McMinn Endowed Presidential Scholarship


Walter E. Millett Endowed Undergraduate Scholarship in Physics


Ira Lon Morgan Endowed Presidential Scholarship in Physics


Melvin J. Rieger Scholarship Fund in Physics


Dr. Arnold Romberg Scholarship Fund


Carol May & James C. Thompson Scholarship in Physics


The Office of the Vice President of Research provides opportunities for support to full-time undergraduate students for specific research projects. To find out more information about URFs, click on the link below.  You will find detailed information and application forms as well as deadlines for applying.