Button to scroll to the top of the page.


Advisory Council for Physics Department



Scott Abel

Founder & CEO, Umuse; With more than 30 years in the technology industry, Scott is a serial entrepreneur who has started four companies.  As founder of these companies he’s raised more than $200M in venture capital, employed more than 1,000 people and generated a combined revenue of in excess of half a billion dollars.  His latest venture, Umuse is on a mission to tame the communication chaos in the workplace.  Prior to Umuse, Scott was the Founder & CEO of Spiceworks - the world’s largest social network for IT Professionals.  Scott holds a BS in Physics from UT Austin and is an avid martial artist who holds black belts in several different styles of martial arts.



Tina Barrett

UT-Austin alumna; Physics Ph.D. Currently,President and owner of Waterlilly Homes, LLC, a local residential real-estate development company.






Donald E. Bowen

Donald E. Bowen

UT Austin alumnus, Physics Ph.D. Retired senior level administrator at UT - El Paso, Missouri State University, Stephen F. Austin State University and the United Arab Emirates University.




Drobot pic

Adam Drobot

UT-Austin alumnus; B.A. in Engineering and Applied Physics from Cornell University; Ph.D in Physics from UT-Austin with a specialization in plasma physics. Adam is currently an independent investor, consultant, and Chairman of the Board of OpenTechWorks, Inc. He previously served as Managing Director of 2M Companies as Chief Technology Officer and President of Advanced Techology Solutions at Telcordia Techologies. He also managed the Advanced Technology Group and was Senior Vice President for Science and Technology at SAIC. He is currently on the Board of the Telecommunications Industry Assn and a member of the FCC Technical Advisory Council. Adam's special interests are multidisciplinary computational-based tools to support complex products.


Keig Beth3

Elizabeth J. Keig

UT-Austin alumna, B.A. in computer sciences and J.D. from UT Law School. Member of the College of Natural Sciences Advisory Council. Deputy General Counsel for Gerson Lehrman Group, Inc.





Jeff Kodosky

Jeff Kodosky

UT-Austin alumnus, physics/computer sciences. Member of the College of Natural Sciences Advisory Council. Major donor to the Physics Department and the College. Co-founder of National Instruments.







Brian Feb 15

Brian Kushner

PhD in Applied Physics, Cornell University. Member of the College of Natural Sciences Advisory Council. Senior Managing Director of FIT Consulting.






Sheridan Lorenz head shot

Sheridan Mitchell Lorenz

UT-Austin alumna; BA in French/Russian; post-graduate studies: Architecture/Geography. Initiated philantrhopic programs in education, youth employment and low-income housing in Galveston. Advisory Board member of the Mitchell Institute for Fundamental Physics and Astronomy, Texas A & M, and the Cynthia and George Mitchell Foundation, Austin.




Dan Riley

UT-Austin alumnus, law degree; member of the College of Sciences Natural Sciences Advisory Council; retired Senior Partner in the Washington office of a prominent national law firm.






Rick Sivan

UT-Austin alumnus with a B.S. in Physics and a Ph.D in solid state Physics. Rick has served as VP of Research & Development and as Executive Director of IC Technology at International Rectifier, a world leader in power management technology. He has also served as Director of Technology at ATDF (Sematech subsidiary) and has held several top-level positions at Motorola both in Austin, TX and in Herzelia, Israel. He is interested in community service, has served on the Board of Directors of SafePlace in Austin and on the Departmental Visiting Committees for the Dept of Physics and ECE.


 Suzanne StoutSuzanne Stout

UT-Austin alumna, Physics. MBA, Ph.D in Business. Former professor; retired executive from Cisco Systems.  Current management consultant and angel investor.




Budget Council Advisory Committee

Alex Demkov
Richard Fitzpatrick
Manuel Hegelich
Elaine Li
John Markert
Harry Swinney

Colloquium Committee

Karol Lang, chair
Todd Ditmire
Manfred Fink
Richard Hazeltine
Qian Niu

Dual Degree Oversight Committee

Qian Niu, Chair

Ken Gentle

Manuel Hegelich

John Keto

Ken Shih

Faculty Advancement Committee

Karol Lang, chair
Mike Downer
Allan Macdonald
Mark Raizen
Jack Ritchie

Graduate Recruitment Committee

Richard Fitzpatrick, chair
Tim Andeen
Alex de Lozanne
Jacques Distler
Dan Heinzen
John Keto
Keji Lai

Graduate Studies Sub-Committee (GSSC)

Sonia Paban, chair
Alex Demkov
Greg Fiete
E.L. Florin
Phil Morrison
John Keto

Graduate Welfare Committee

E.L Florin, chair
Vadim Kaplunovsky
John Keto
Maxim Tsoi
Zhen Yao

Seven elected graduate student representatives

Nominations Committee

Harry Swinney, Chair

Jim Chelikowsky

Richard Matzner

Ray Orbach

Roy Schwitters


Outreach & Diversity Committee

Christina Markert, chair
Tim Andeen
Willy Fischler
Can Kilic
Linda Reichl


Teaching Excellence Committee

Michael Marder, chair
Vernita Gordon
John Markert
Greg Sitz
John Yeazell


Saturday Workshop Committee

Austin Gleeson

Richard Hazeltine

Zhen Yao

Undergraduate Advising Committee

Greg Sitz, chair
Duane Dicus
Michael Marder
John Markert
Linda Reichl

Undergraduate Affairs Committee

Greg Sitz, chair
Duane Dicus
Phil Morrison
Sonia Paban
John Yeazell