Button to scroll to the top of the page.



Xiaoqin (Elaine) Li Elected to the American Physical Society

The American Physical Society has elected four faculty members from The University of Texas Austin as Fellows for their groundbreaking work in the field of physics.

The APS fellowship is a distinct honor signifying recognition by one’s professional peers for exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise. APS fellows consist of only half of one percent of the organization’s overall membership.

This year, APS recognized the College of Natural Sciences' Xiaoqin (Elaine) Li and two engineers from the Cockrell School of Engineering, Thomas Truskett and Andrea Alu, along with Bruce J. Hunt from the university’s College of Liberal Arts.

Xiaoqin (Elaine) Li, associate professor in the Department of Physics, was cited for contributions to quantum information, multidimensional coherent spectroscopy, nanophotonics based on AFM assembly, and spin dynamics in ferromagnetic nanostructures. She studies the quantum dynamics of electrons. With the use of ultrafast laser pulses, she researches how light and matter interact at the nanoscale. Her research has numerous applications for the development of improved semiconductors to power electronics and communications devices.

A list of the 2015 APS Fellows and citations can be found on the APS website.

Department of Physics Saturday Workshop
Fall 2015 Newsletter


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment