Button to scroll to the top of the page.



Physicist Recognized for Teaching Excellence

A professor in the College of Natural Sciences has been named to the University of Texas at Austin's respected Academy of Distinguished Teachers for 2015.

Provost Gregory Fenves named John Markert, a professor in the Department of Physics, Academy of Distinguished Teachers for 2015.

"These three new inductees are outstanding examples of the excellence in scholarship UT Austin champions across a diverse array of fields," Fenves said of Markert, Law Professor Mechele Dickerson and Engineering Professor Richard Corsi. "They have combined nationally renowned research with innovative classroom teaching, expanding knowledge while helping students launch careers."

The academy was created in 1995 to recognize tenured faculty members who throughout their careers have maintained significant contributions to education, particularly at the undergraduate level.

The faculty members were named to the academy based on recommendations from an ad hoc faculty and student committee that reviewed nominations of faculty members. Deans nominate faculty members with input from others in the faculty, students and academy members from their departments.

Academy members receive the title "Distinguished Academy Professor" and a $7,500 increase in annual academic salary, effective the following academic year.

The academy serves as an advisory group to the executive vice president and provost on teaching excellence and will provide institutional leadership and guidance for the distinctive undergraduate experience available in our research university environment.

Vernita Gordon, Assistant Professor in Physics, di...
Department of Physics Saturday Workshop


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment