Button to scroll to the top of the page.
Baldini, Edoardo

Edoardo Baldini

Assistant Professor
Department of Physics

Experimental condensed matter physics. Discovery and nonequilibrium control of quantum phases of matter. Ultrafast laser science.


Office Location

Postal Address
AUSTIN, TX 78712

Postdoc, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2017-2021

Ph.D., École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, 2017

My primary research interest is the study of emergent phenomena in quantum materials. In my group, we develop sensitive spectroscopic techniques to uncover new quantum phases of matter in and out of equilibrium. We also engineer tailored laser pulses in a wide spectral range to control materials properties on ultrashort timescales and achieve exotic functionalities for future quantum technology.

Experimental condensed matter physics. Discovery and nonequilibrium control of quantum phases of matter. Ultrafast laser science. Light-matter interaction.

Selected publications

C. A. Belvin, E. Baldini, I. Ö. Ozel, D. Mao, H. C. Po, C. J. Allington, S. Son, B. H. Kim, J. Kim, I. Hwang, J. H. Kim, J.-G. Park, T. Senthil, N. Gedik, "Exciton-Mediated Antiferromagnetic Metal in a Correlated van der Waals Insulator," Nature Communications, accepted (2021)

E. Baldini, C. A. Belvin, M. Rodriguez-Vega, I. Ö. Ozel, D. Legut, A. Kozłowski, A. M. Oleś, K. Parlinski, P. Piekarz, J. Lorenzana, G. A. Fiete, N. Gedik, “Discovery of the Soft Electronic Modes of the Trimeron Order in Magnetite,” Nature Physics 16, 541-545 (2020)

E. Baldini, M. A. Sentef, S. Acharya, T. Brumme, E. Sheveleva, F. Lyzwa, E. Pomjakushina, C. Bernhard, M. van Schilfgaarde, F. Carbone, A. Rubio, C. Weber, "Electron-Phonon-Driven Three-Dimensional Metallicity in an Insulating Cuprate," Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 117, 6409-6416 (2020)

J.-J. Shi, E. Baldini, S. Latini, S. Sato, Y. Zhang, B. Pein, P.-C. Shen, J. Kong, A. Rubio, N. Gedik, K. A. Nelson, "Room Temperature Terahertz Electroabsorption Modulation by Excitons in Monolayer Transition Metal Dichalcogenides," Nano Letters 20, 5214-5220 (2020)

T. Palmieri, E. Baldini, A. Steinhoff, A. Akrap, M. Kollar, E. Horvath, L. Forró, F. Jahnke, M. Chergui, “Mahan Excitons in Room-Temperature Methylammonium Lead Bromide Perovskites,” Nature Communications 11, 850 (2020)

X. Li, T. Qiu, J. Zhang, E. Baldini, J. Lu, A. M. Rappe, K. A. Nelson, "Terahertz-Field-Induced Ferroelectricity in Quantum Paraelectric SrTiO3," Science 364, 1079-1082 (2019)

E. Baldini, A. Dominguez, T. Palmieri, O. Cannelli, A. Rubio, P. Ruello, M. Chergui, “Exciton Control in a Room-Temperature Bulk Semiconductor with Coherent Strain Pulses,” Science Advances 5, 11, eaax2937 (2019)

E. Baldini, A. Mann, L. Benfatto, E. Cappelluti, A. Acocella, V. M. Silkin, S. V. Eremeev, A. B. Kuzmenko, S. Borroni, T. Tan, X. X. Xi, F. Zerbetto, R. Merlin, F. Carbone, “Real-Time Observation of Phonon-Mediated σ-π Interband Scattering in MgB2,” Physical Review Letters 119, 097002 (2017)

E. Baldini, T. Palmieri, T. Rossi, M. Oppermann, E. Pomarico, G. Auböck, M. Chergui, “Ultrafast Interfacial Electron Injection Probed by a Substrate-Specific Excitonic Signature,” Journal of American Chemical Society 139, 11584-11589 (2017)

E. Baldini, L. Chiodo, A. Dominguez, M. Palummo, S. Moser, M. Yazdi-Rizi, G. Auböck, B. P. P. Mallett, H. Berger, A. Magrez, C. Bernhard, M. Grioni, A. Rubio, M. Chergui, “Strongly Bound Excitons in Anatase TiO2 Single Crystals and Nanoparticles,” Nature Communications 8, 13 (2017)

These authors contributed equally to this work


E. Baldini, “Nonequilibrium Dynamics of Collective Excitations in Quantum Materials”, Springer (2018)

Selected awards

  • MDPI Materials 2021 Young Investigator Award (2020)
  • Materials Research Society (MRS), MRS Postdoctoral Award (2020)
  • American Chemical Society (ACS), ACS Physical Chemistry Young Investigator Award (2020)
  • MDPI Physics 2020 Young Investigator Award (2020)
  • American Physical Society (APS), Division of Laser Science “Carl E. Anderson” Award (2019)
  • IBM Award in Condensed Matter Physics, Zürich, Switzerland (2019)
  • Swiss National Science Foundation - Postdoc Mobility Fellowship, Switzerland (2018)
  • EPFL Doctorate Award 2018 (Special distinction to the 10 best PhD theses in all fields) (2018)
  • Springer Theses Award, “for outstanding PhD research” (2017)
  • EPFL Physics Doctoral School Award (Special distinction to the 3 best PhD theses in physics) (2017)
  • Dimitris N. Chorafas Foundation Award (2017)
  • Swiss National Science Foundation - Early Postdoc Mobility Fellowship, Switzerland (2016)
  • Best Undergraduate Student Award – School of Engineering, University of Pavia, Italy (2013)
  • Merit Scholarship - University of Pavia, Italy (2007/2008 - 2011/2012)