Button to scroll to the top of the page.

Richard D Hazeltine

Professor Emeritus
Department of Physics

Plasma stability theory and nonlinear fluid modeling.


Postal Address
AUSTIN, TX 78712

Richard Hazeltine is a graduate of Harvard College (A.B., 1964) and the
University of Michigan (Ph.D., 1968). He spent two years at the Institute for
Advanced Study in Princeton before joining the University of Texas in 1971. In
1980 he helped establish the Institute for Fusion Studies at Texas, and served for
eleven years, beginning in 1991, as Institute Director. Hazeltine was appointed
Chair of the Physics Department at The University in 2009.

As a theoretical plasma physicist, Hazeltine has worked in transport theory,
plasma stability theory and nonlinear fluid modeling. His scienti c interests
extend from plasma con nement to such topics as nonlinear dynamics and as-
trophysics. He is co-author of the books Plasma Con nement (with J. D. Meiss,
1992) and The Framework of Plasma Physics (with F. L. Waelbroeck, 1999).
He has published about 140 papers on plasma physics and related topics.

Hazeltine was a Councilor of the American Physical Society, Chair of the
Division of Plasma Physics, Chair of the Fusion Energy Sciences Advisory Com-
mittee for DOE and a member of the Board on Physics and Astronomy of the
National Research Council. Previously on the editorial boards of Physical Re-
view and The Physics of Fluids, Hazeltine served some 8 years as an Associate
Editor of Reviews of Modern Physics. He is a Fellow of the APS and of the

Research Interests

Plasma stability theory and nonlinear fluid modeling.

Two textbooks (Plasma Confinement, with J. D. Meiss; The Framework of
Plasma Physics, with F. L. Waelbroeck); approximately 120 technical publications.

  • Sigma XI, Phi Kappa Phi, Harvard College Scholar, Horace H. Rackham Predoctoral Fellow
  • Fellow, American Physical Society
  • Teaching Excellence Award, College of Natural Sciences, UTA
  • Fusion Power Associates Leadership Award
  • Chair, Fusion Energy Sciences Advisory Committee, US Department of Energy
  • Chair, Advisory Council for the Program in Plasma Physics, Princeton
  • Corporation Visiting Committee, Department of Nuclear Engineering, MIT